Using all this new software is crazy…

You really need to practice the software to be able to create digital art.  It is frustrating in that you have to start with the basics as opposed to just being able to draw something.  It took me forever to figure out how I was going to draw an acorn and a leaf to help create a Fall theme for this week’s banner assignment.  THen I realized that I had to just break it down and think about the shapes. So I googled pictures of leaves and acorns.  The acorn I just tried to copy a digital image I saw online and for the leaf, I imported a picture of a real leaf and traced it with the pen tool in Fireworks.  I then played with different textures to try to get a realistic look.  So here are what the first drafts of my two banners look like:

I personally prefer the first image.  I like that the colors are vibrant.  I wanted to recreate a kaleidoscope feel.  I focused on creating one half of the image and used shadows to give a more 3D feel.  Once I was satisfied with the the one side, I copied the image and used to software to flip it – create a mirror image.  I definitely learned how to create some shortcuts for myself.  I wish I was as comfortable with creating my first webpage…I guess I have to just keep practicing.

Leave a Reply

