Pinterest!

I am obsessed with Pinterest!  I know this has probably been around awhile, but it is a new discovery for me.  I love collecting images – I’ve done it since childhood.  I’d flip through magazines (Elle and Vogue) and cut out pictures of models or clothes I thought were beautiful.  I learned to draw from these pictures, trying to make portraits of the models.  I would trace an outline of their faces and then practice shading – until I eventually forced myself to practice without tracing.

Even as an adult I have a cork board in my home “office” with magazine clippings that I’ve collected – I might like the way light is reflected in an ad for a vase or the art direction of a high end fashion ad.  I have folders filled with things that are inspiration for ideas I want to work on.

Pinterest makes this so much easier!  I often find things online that I bookmark or download the image to a folder in my computer.  Now with a click on the “pin it” button that Pinterest had me add to  my browser bar I can add it and group it according to interest! For instance, I am obsessed with tiles right now because I want to create a “backsplash” in my kitchen.  I want something beautiful and creative, so i have been collecting images and created a “tiles” board on Pinterest!

One response to “Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

